Match Reports

U13 Footballers Crowned Co.Champions

U13 Footballers crowned Co. Champions
The Kilmoganny U13 footballers were crowned county champions in Thomastown on Thursday 24th May in a pulsating game against Bennettsbridge. Bennettsbridge came into the game fresh from being crowned League champions and having beaten Kilmoganny in the league. Kilmoganny however were not deterred by being underdogs and settled to the task well. Bennettsbridge opened the scoring with a point before Cathal Buckley got his first of two goals in quick succession to give Kilmoganny a great start. The standard of football throughout was excellent with some great scores being taken on both sides. Tim Doherty slotted a nice point to halt any Bennettsbridge revival but again they responded. John Hayes, Eoin Shiel and Noah Gilmore showed they had the range also to push out the lead but Bennettsbridge were now playing some great football and putting severe pressure on our backs but with some great goalkeeping by Killian Tallon and clever back play lead by Mark MacEneaney at full back Ciaran Hickey and William Browne meant Bennettsbridge were made work very hard for their scores. Then came a very lucky break for Kilmoganny when a long ball in from Eoin Shiel found its way to the back of the net. Ross O’Neill followed this up with a well taken point to send the sides in Kilmoganny 3:05 Bennettsbridge 0:7 at half time.
Noah slotted a nice point at the beginning of the second half which Bennettsbridge responded to. Then saw very clever play from Cathal Walsh to take a quick free to the unmarked Cathal Buckley who passed it back to him to slot it over the bar. Bennettsbridge responded again and the positional changes they made at half time were paying dividends as they were now attaching in waves. They slotted a nice point which Noah cancelled out with a well taken one from play which kept 9 points between the sides. Bennettsbridge had yet to hit their purple patch as we hit the midway point of the half and when they did they hit hard striking 2:01 without reply to set up a very nervous finish. The Kilmoganny players were however not about to let their chance slip. Great work rate from Pierce Costello, Gavin McMahon, Tim Doherty who kept dropping right back to help out their backs meant that our forwards kept getting good ball. Sean Rossiter came out to gather a nice ball in he then turned his man and landed it into the danger zone and Sean Lawton jumped higher than the goalie to get the slightest of touches to slip the ball into the net. Sean Rossiter followed it up nearly immediately with a point from play as the Bennettsbridge lads continued to press forward and the final whistle seemed to never arrive but alas it did and Kilmoganny were deservedly crowned Co. Champions after monumentus effort by all. Cathal Walsh had the privalage of accepting the trophy on behalf of his team.Kilmoganny 4:10 Bennettsbridge 2:10
Panel:- Killian Tallon, Ciaran Hickey, Mark MacEneaney, William Browne, Gavin McMahon, Cathal Walsh, Ross O’Neill, Noah Gilmore, Sean Lawton (Jamie Tallon), Tim Doherty, Eoin Sheil, John Hayes (Jnr)(Shay Delaney), Pierce Costello, Cathal Buckley, Aidan Ryan (Sean Rossiter),David Moore, Conor Lawton, Sam O’Shea, Tommy Steed, Jack McCormack. Mentors:- John Walsh, John Hayes (Snr), Derek Delaney, Eamon Murphy,James Rossiter